It dawned on me this morning as I chugged my coffee to get the adrenaline going that I’ve not blogged about Dead West in over a month.  I’ve mentioned it here and there on twitter and FaceBook, not to mention in emails and conversations-but not a proper post. So, here I am making amends for that.

All of the major edits are done, and there are three stories I’m really working on right now. I’m very pleased that many of them needed only minor tweaks, making my job much easier.  I really want to mention one writer, who has done more work on his story than everyone else combined, and that’s Hunter Lambright. He’s gone through 4 major edits without a complaint. His dedication to making his story the best it can be is an inspiration to myself, and certainly behavior other writers could learn from. For a new writer to show this level of professionalism is a joy, and I hope to be able to work with him again for years to come.

The signature sheet design is done! Once I get it in the mail, I’ll be making copies and sending them out. The logistics of doing this, in terms of sending them out, making sure the writers get reimbursed for the postage is nothing short of madness on my part. However, because I believe in this book, and want to make the best product available, I have no qualms about doing it. For those interested you can check out the design here: Dead West Signature Sheet. Mad props to Noah O’Toole for his cool design!

And speaking of Noah, I sent him the design ideas that the writers came up with for the 13 drawings to accompany each story. I was a little worried about his reaction when he saw them, but in an email I received, his excitement really boosted my spirits and got me excited about Dead West all over again. Noah is an immense talent, a pleasure to work with, and one of the nicest guys I know.

At this point, everything is on schedule and our release date of Halloween is looking better than ever. I truly hope that everyone enjoys Dead West as much as I enjoy putting it together.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Zoe Whitten and Bandy books, Scott Colbert. Scott Colbert said: Brand new blog post updating the status of Dead West! http://bit.ly/9ps8ik […]

  2. Wow, thanks so much for the kind words. I’m glad that I’ve made a good impression, and hope that the work we’ve put in on the story really pays off!