Out With the Old, In With the New

Posted: December 31, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

As I write this, 2009 still has about 6 hours and 43 minutes left before it gives up the ghost. I have some pomegranate Iced Tea and watching a DVD concert of Fish at the NEARFest gig from 2008.  Appropriately enough the song being played is Slainte Mhaith. Outside, the temperature is a cool 63 degrees. My cat is asleep on the rocking chair in the corner, a bit of tongue poking out as the whiskers twitch.

It’s a good day. not only for me personally, but for looking back at what the year offered. It started off as it did for many by being laid off from the job I’d held for 2 years. Having unemployment deny the initial claim didn’t help matters, so then I learned the ins and outs of ebay. Fortunately the unemployment was approved, and I was able to breathe a little easier.

April brought my nephew’s wedding, and a chance to see my sister, niece and brother in-law, something I never get to do enough since they live in FL. I certainly was glad to be a part of it, and it made me realize how important my family is to me at times.

July saw me taking a little get away to the mountains of Lakeside-Pinetop with my Mom. It also saw the start of Barbed Wire Kisses. After a tragic act of stupidity I lost most of what I’d written, hence the beginnings of BWK. Reaction to the first chapter was amazingly positive, allowing me to carry on. Who knew it would take me another 5 months to finish it?

August saw my 44th year on the big blue ball.  A decidedly unemotional affair this year, it was more a day of resignation, knowing the hair would keep thinning, the eyes would dim a bit, and the heart wouldn’t know love for a third year in a row.  August also marked the 20th Anniversary of my Dad’s death (technically that was June, but he was also born in August). This was also the month Rich Ristow mentioned working on Bandersnatch Books.  At the end of August he asked me to be a part of it. That was the start of my Fellini moments.

October saw the incredible good fortune of  being able to get not one, not two, but three T.M. Wright stories for publication by Bandy. To go from being a fan of his work to publishing his work is still one of the great Fellini moments of my life.

November/December was the curtain call for BWK-in terms of finishing it. November saw me send the first 10 chapters to the wonderful Louise Bohmer for edits. Christmas Eve saw me send the second draft to her with all her suggestions included. December also gave birth to Dead West, my weird western anthology for Bandy. It also brought about some submissions from writers I’d never dreamed would be interested.

Which leaves me, humbled and grateful.  with BWK being read by one publisher, all systems go on DW and the excitement that antho is generating, I have to say 2009, while not a great  year, certainly set 2010 up to be a year of limitless possibilities.

Please, join me on the journey.

Comments are closed.