The End of the Journey

Posted: December 10, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, the first draft of Barbed Wire Kisses is complete. Started in July of this year, I put finish to it on 11/28 at 10:45 PM. It has a word count of a lean 38K words. Not quite a novel, yet almost to big too be a novella (though it does fit within that category). Still it’s finally completed.

I had a lot of problems with the second half of this one, mainly because it changed tone somewhat but I felt that some things I’d set up in the first few chapters needed some more explanation and exploration. As a result some of what I’d planned had to get cut yet I think the work as a whole is better for it.

BWK took me to places I didn’t want to, nor intended to go. It’s perhaps the most visceral work I’ve ever written, full of violence and mayhem that would make most shrink away in fear and disgust.  Yet in the midst of the carnage there is hope, and yes, love.  I’ve come to love these characters, much like a parent loves their children, and while I hated seeing some of them go, it was for the stories benefit. The greatest of all these characters is the “good guy” in the bunch, Eddie Mccarthy, Army Sargeant and former Indian tracker-you see he’s my Father.

Not exactly, as the fictional Eddie is a bit more of an archetype, but make no mistake from the moment he appears, I had my Father in mind.  He has the real Eddie’s strength, wisdom and intelligence. He has my flaws. And damn, if I didn’t have a hard time with how to write his ending. Whether to keep him alive or kill him was something I struggled with for many a day. What did I do? Well, you’ll have to read it when it comes out.

Now comes the editing. I’m fortunate enough to have the wonderful Louise Bohmer doing the line editing, consistency checking and fact checking for me. She’s been an invaluable source of inspiration, support and critic.  Everything that is good about BWK is due to her. Any flaws are mine.  Once the edits are done then it’s off to various publishers.

I hope one of them likes it enough, and think it’s a story worth investing in, as I do.

Comments are closed.