Where Everyone Knows Your Name

Posted: November 24, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

There are few universal truths that ring as loudly as this one: create a forum or messageboard and it will attract nitwits and douchebags in untold numbers. This idiom began as far back as the messageboards on Prodigy when I joined that back in 1990.  Create a thoughtful, well written post about something you find important, and within five minutes someone will post a reply calling you an idiot, communistic, faggot, shoe sniffer. Then IRC came into being, and the insults were flung in real time chat.

Sometimes it seemed the fun never stopped.  Between the flame wars on Prodigy, Compuserve, AOL, IRC, et al, it seemed a cottage industry of douche bags was born. Sadly, some things never change and it doesn’t seem to matter what the forum is about.

I frequent boards about horror, writing, ipod iTouch games and apps, prisoners rights,  and my World of Warcraft guild.  Each and every one of them has their trolls, lunatics and nitwits to varying degrees.  some are easy to ignore, and others require an act of God to keep me from barbecuing over an open pit of snark.

That was true until I joined Skullvines Press forum. From the moment I signed up, I felt at home there, more than most places. I can truly say there’s not a douchebag in the bunch over there. Sure S.D. keep pestering me for close up pics of my ass, but he does that to everyone. And while I don’t always want to hear about the frequency of Jerrod masturbating (mostly to thise pics S.D> asks for, I assume), he’s a great guy. I also say that as one of the only writers there without their own forum spot. That’s how much I love the place.

That’s how much I love these guys (in a non gay, gay way of course).  so do yourself a favor, if you’re looking for a nice little patch of filth and profanity, check out the Skullvines forums. Just don’t fuck it up, my barbecue pit is always at the ready.http://skullvines.com/forum/index.php

Comments
  1. Louise says:

    It is our Cheers, indeed! hehe 😀