Odds and Ends

Posted: August 21, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Having Michele Lee do a guest post proved so popular, I’ll be doing this again, probably once a month. For September, I’ll be having Rich Ristow author of  “Into the Cruel Sea”, the upcoming “Wood Life” and poetry anthology “Death In Common” write a post about what he does and know best, poetry.

“Barbed Wire Kisses” is coming along nicely, it stands right now at 6 chapters and approximately 10K words.  It’s taking a couple of odd twists that I hadn’t planned on, but hey, that’s writing for you. I’m very happy with how it’s going, and the shape it’s taking and believe that once I’m done, it’ll be a very wicked, very nasty little read. Think of the pulp horror novels of the 80’s, and you’ll have an idea of where I’m going with it.

One of the things that I’ve been asked is what my writing schedule is like, what I listen to, etc. Well my schedule isn’t really set. Since being laid off this past January my patterns have changed considerably. I try to do my writing in the early morning when I’m fresh, and the world is quiet. That hasn’t happened however, as the last three chapters have been writing in the middle of the night when sleep has refused to come. As I write this, it’s 5:20 AM, and once I finish this post, I’ll dive headlong into the next chapter, take a bit of a nap and then run my errands for the day.  As for what I listen to when I write? It depends. I’ve been watching the HBO series “Deadwood” lately as it kind of puts me in the mood for writing BWK; I also listen to Peter Gabriel’s soundtrack for “Last Temptation of Christ”, and the soundtracks for “World of Warcraft”, in particular the “Wrath of the Lich King”. Anything with lyrics tends to distract me as I’ll want to sing along. I’ll also listen to podcasts every once in awhile, “The Instance”, “This Week in Tech” and “Extra Life” being the main ones.  And while my word count varies, I try to do at least 1500 words a day and aim for 2000.  I also try to write every day, but job seeking often interrupts that.

For anyone who’s interested, you can follow me on twitter by clicking on my twitter feed to the right here, and also follow me on facebook under Scott Colbert.

Comments are closed.