When Plans Go Awry

Posted: August 11, 2009 in Uncategorized

I had a simple day planned. Busy, but simple. I had a crit of a friend’s story I had to get done; three reviews to write; a letter to write, a new blog post; and the next chapter in BWK.  The days started out with me setting up my new printer, only to discover it didn’t contain the USB cord I needed to connect it to my laptop. I should have read the box more carefully as it even said on there it wasn’t included.

I went up to Fry’s Electronics, which is only a 15 minute walk from my apartment, picked one up, got home and proceeded to spend the next hour and a half trying to get it to work. I’m running Windows 7 RC on my laptop. I like it. I like it a lot and it’s stable enough to use on my main PC.  Even when I installed it a couple of months ago, I had no problems with any of my peripherals.

But HP has to be a prick about things. Not only would the drivers not install when I put in the CD, it canceled the installation because I was running an OS that it didn’t recognize. Thinking HP would have some drivers on their website, I searched all over to no avail. I did some searches for possible workarounds-again to no avail. finally out of desperation, finally I downloaded a minimum install, and set it to mimic Vista with service pack 2.

Voila! It worked, but with a lot of needless frustration. I won’t be buying any Hewlett Packard products in the future, that’s for sure. With the printer working, I settled in to read the crit I promised to do Sunday. It was a great little story, and with only 2 or 3 minor problems, so I’m looking forward to seeing this one in print.

After a bit of lunch, I took a nap. Had to, the battle with the printer wore me out. When I awoke, I got started on the letter I had to write and  finished in about an hour. At that point I got an email from a friend who was having problems posting a comment over on the blogspot site I had. Not only that, but getting any information on stats for the blog was needlessly difficult.  Before I got to into the blogspot site too deep, I made the decision to switch over to wordpress, where at least I’m familiar with everything.  After futzing around with different layouts and widgets, I’ve got the basic look I want right now.  All that’s left is to add my links and what not.

So after all of this, plus having dinner and getting some laundry done, it’s now 9:35 PM or so.

All I wanted to do was get caught up on some work that was overdue, and get back to my novel.

Oh well, tomorrow is another day.

Comments are closed.